WELCOME . . . enter here

Thanks for visiting! If you are a musician looking for new and unabashedly tonal music to perform, you're in the right place! There are plenty of sample scores and sound files to choose from. Writing tonal music is not a fashion for me; I've been doing it for over forty-five years. Inside you'll find new - complete - recordings of the following works:

  • Three by Seven: Seven Sketches for Three Flutes
  • Minute Tours: Ten Conversations for Two Flutes
  • Sketches from an Attic Trunk (for ten players)
  • Sonata (clarinet and piano)
  • Sonata (oboe and piano)
  • Sonata (flute and piano)
  • Nethermead Air and Variations (flute, clarinet, french horn, and harp)
  • Sonatina (flute and harp - or guitar)
  • Serenade (string orchestra)
  • New Keyboard Sonatinas (piano, harpsichord or organ)
  • Bagatelles (two versions: solo guitar and with string quartet
  • Music for Ten Hands (arrangements of popular piano pieces for brass quintet)

  • Inside, you can also see pictures read about the world premiere production of my 1987 opera buffa, Antonelli's Nose
  • A newly revamped organ page with COMPLETE recordings and many new additions . . .
  • Recordings of instrumental arrangements of many of my piano rags, including Scenes of Old Brooklyn
  • BRAND NEW VIDEO PAGE See short videos with music written especially for each video. There are a number of silent film stars featured, including Charlie Chaplin and shorts by Thomas Edison.

  • Richard White on YouTube Visit my YouTube Channel to also see my videos.

  • World Premiere performance of the Overture to 221B, as played by the Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra, Linus Lerner conducting.

  • About Richard White's organ music . . .

    ""Great music, carefully constructed and modeled after Baroque principles yet reflecting a keen sense of freshness directed toward the chorale and Gregorian melodies."

    Dr. Myron Patterson
    Adjunct Associate Professor of Organ
    University of Utah
    Principal Organist, Salt Lake Symphony

    Some links to start with:

    A Personal Message from Richard White about his beginnings as a composer.

    Sleep Now, Jesu: SATB and Strings. Live performance with the Tucson MasterSingers and the Catalina Chamber Orchestra (now the Tucson Chamber Orchestra), December, 2006.
    "a gentle, soft piece of great interior beauty." Arizona Daily Star

    The Blue and the Gray: from "Sketches from an Attic Trunk."

    The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1923): Starring Lon Chaney with a new musical score by Richard White.